Hang Power Cleans

Hang power clean 1-1-1-1-1-1-1 reps

80#/90#/95#/95#/100#/100#/105# (F), 100#

I’m slightly better at cleaning from the ground than I am from the hang. It’s easier, in my opinion, maybe due to the added momentum. Or maybe it’s just an odd mental quirk all of my own. Goodness knows I’ve got enough of those.

It didn’t feel like I was jumping or getting enough extension on the pulls, so I set up my camera and tripod to see if I could get a picture. It took me quite a while to get the timing down, because I had to set the ten second delay, shimmy around the tripod, set up with the bar, and time the movement with the clicking of the shutter. Luckily, my camera (Sony DSLR-A100) has a audible countdown so I was eventually able to get a good shot of my feet at the top of the pull. I probably did ten extra cleans with 80# before I got a good shot (after the workout.)

I was in my home gym, which is in the furnace room in the basement, so it was a little cramped in there. Due to lighting, piled up junk, etc. I had to set the camera up in the doorway to a crawl space that serves as the cellar. So I kind of had to wiggle into the crawl space to adjust the camera each time I took a shot. The furnace kept kicking on and off, too, so I had to really concentrate to hear the camera while the fire was roaring behind me. Ah, the sacrifices an artist makes.

I was really hoping no one would come in while I was in the midst of this process. I can’t imagine what that would have looked like. I mean, if you walked in on a person standing in front of a camera on a tripod swinging around an 80# barbell what would you think? “Really, this isn’t what it looks like. I can explain!”

clean_dsc08819

Contrary to what it felt like, it looks like I was
getting fairly good extension.

clean_dsc08818

A shot just for fun. Bar levitation.

clean_dsc08816

It might look like I’m hitting myself in the face with
the bar, but I’m not. Well, not this time, anyway.

Leave a Reply

