First WOD of the Year

Well, today is the first day of the year and I decided I would do a CrossFit Total to see where I was at.

“CrossFit Total”

Back Squat, 1 rep
Front Press, 1 rep
Deadlift, 1 rep

BS: 150
FP: 75
DL: 220

Total: 445

Let’s just say the year didn’t start off on a good note. These were some of the ugliest, gnarliest, down-right nasty lifts I have ever done in my life. Attributable to, oh I don’t know, perhaps two whole weeks of not working out at all and eating every gram of carb and sugar that passed within a five mile radius of me.

I told my mother this morning (as she was fixing a lunch of breaded chicken strips, garlic bread and french fries) that I was not eating any more sugar or grains. She said “Ever?” I said, “Well, until I go crazy anyway.” It was looking like that might have been tonight. I mean, I was having a serious internal battle about the tin of homemade cookies sitting on the kitchen counter. I can’t even go one day? Heck, the day ain’t over yet.

I don’t know what to do. Zone? I hate measuring, and bananas are frowned upon. Paleo? No measuring and I can have bananas, but no peanut butter or cheese. All I know is I need to eat better and work out consistently. My goal for this year is to lose 30 pounds. Sure, I want to perform better, who doesn’t? But I would be lying if I said a big part of it isn’t vanity. I want to look good, I want to feel good, I don’t want to be self conscious about my body anymore. I hate walking around feeling that little jiggle, I absolutely hate it. The problem is, I love cookies more than I hate the jiggle, and that needs to change first.

4 thoughts on “First WOD of the Year

  1. i’m glad you are working out again. it’s been a long time since you have been here… you are gonna love the new gym. it seems HUGE once the guy got his stuff out of there. unfortunately it’s gonna be end of

  2. oops got kicked off some how… anyway – it’s gonna be end of next week before pullup bars get installed. we are gonna have a 0515 class on monday.. can’t wait for you to join us!

  3. whatever time you want monday.. i’ll probably be up there all day. just call my cell phone and let me know what you want to do.

Leave a Reply

