Clean and Jerk

Clean and Jerk 1-1-1-1-1-1-1 reps

100#/110# (push press)/110#/110#/100#/100#/100#

Today was supposed to be a 5k run, but I really, really did not want to do it. But I haven’t worked out in three days, so I was feeling guilty. I decided to check CFHQ and I saw the workout for tomorrow, which is clean and jerks. I decided to swap them, and I swear I’m doing that run tomorrow. Really, I have new shoes and everything.

The second push jerk ended up being a push press. I just felt uncoordinated tonight for some reason. I couldn’t get my body to cooperate with my brain. I was struggling with 110#, my form was not good at all. I thought about it and I asked myself, is it worth it for that extra ten pounds? What am I trying to prove? Wouldn’t it be better to lower the weight, do it with better form, and avoid a catastrophe? Yes. Yes, it would be. So I dropped down to 100# and my push jerks improved dramatically. My cleans still suck, though. I don’t squat clean at all, I’m just too darn slow to get under the bar. I can clean 110# clear up to my collar bone, but it takes me that long to get under it. 

The last three days I’ve also been working on other things I’m really bad at. My two year CrossFit anniversary is in June, and by that time I want to have pull-ups and ring dips. Wednesday I did 75 push-ups in mini-sets throughout the day. Yesterday I did 100 jumping kipping pull-ups, and today I either did 36 or 39 band assisted ring dips. Now that I think about it, that may be why I had so much trouble with the clean and jerks — my arms are really tired. I think I’ll give my arms a break tomorrow. I’ll do that dreaded run, for real.

Leave a Reply

