Body Bumpin’

Judo class tonight. We were instructed to “body bump.” In other words, smash into ’em! We also did tens instead of threes. When we practice throw we do two practice throws and then the real throw, so you do the set up and application right up to the point of the completion of the throw. Usually we do that twice in quick succession and the the throw. So it would be practice throw-practice throw-throw. Tonight we did practice throw-practice throw-practice throw-practice throw-practice throw-practice throw-practice throw-practice throw-practice throw-throw. Whew!

We also did some randori and some cool “odd” throws that we never really get to work on. Fun stuff!

I went over to Steve’s today and did some back squats and deadlifts. I did 130# 5×3 on the back squats, plus a bunch of warmup sets at various weights. For the deadlift I did 185# 3×3. Steve gave me some great coaching and pointed out lots of things for me to work on. It’s amazing the difference between what you think you’re doing and what you’re really doing. For one thing, I’m really leaning over on my squats. I have lots and lots of work to do on those. He gave me some great advice on my deadlift technique too, and he also shot a few quick videos so I could see what I was doing wrong.

Leave a Reply

