Pressing Issues

Workout:

Shoulder press 1-1-1-1-1 reps
Push press 3-3-3-3-3 reps
Push Jerk 5-5-5-5-5 reps

SP: 70#/70#/70#/75#/75#
PP: 80#/80#/80#/90#/90#
PJ: 90#/90#/90#/90#/90#

Man, I got weak real quick. Nobody’s fault but my own. The two 75# shoulder presses were quite possibly the ugliest ever performed by anyone on this planet. Yuck. But they went up, so I guess that’s something. 

I spent most of the day building a fence. My job was to shovel dirt, tamp dirt around the posts and hammer staples in. Lotsa arm work. I got bored while I was waiting for the post holes to get dug, so I did presses with the posts. I would guess they weighed around 35-40 pounds, eight feet long and six inches around, give or take. It was actually kind of fun, because they were all shaped different and it was hard to balance them (not to mention hold them with my little hands.) I did about fifty presses altogether, and the person I was working with didn’t even bat an eye when I was doing it. Like doing shoulder presses with big creosote coated fence posts was the most natural thing in the world. Too bad I didn’t have a camera — that would have been a cool picture.

4 thoughts on “Pressing Issues

  1. when you coming back to the big city? i’ve been sick all week and not doing much except gettin up early to run the girls through their paces.

  2. Hey Steve, I’m not sure when I’ll be back. I hope next week. We still haven’t fixed all the things we broke yet, and we’re preg checking the cows this week. The preg checker is kind of like a plumber or contractor, he shows up when he shows up.

    Hope you start to feel better. How are the girls doing?

    I made the judo class do burpees in the warmup last week and I think I’m henceforth banned from doing warmups now. Heh, heh.

  3. the girls are doing great. they are going M,T,Th,& F @0530 for 30 minutes. we need more space and some more barbells so we can do some different movements… it’so funny, they all want pullups but i just got the one small pullup bar. we need more space…..

    but wait,,,, i have found another space, trying to get them going on cleaning it up a little so we can move in. have a couple different insurance agents getting liability quotes, working on a minimum equipment list, working on an affiliation essay, praying alot….

  4. Awesome! If you need help and I’m in town just let me know.

    Have you looked at Rouge Fitness for equipment? They have some affiliate packages. You could make stuff too, med balls, paralletes, jump boxes, sand bags. We have some old tractor tires up here too. Not sure if they would be too big but you can sure have them if you want them.

Leave a Reply

