Cindy and Battery Acid

Workout:

Cindy
Complete as many rounds in 20 minutes as you can of:
5 Pull-ups (jumping)
10 Push-ups
15 Squats

14 rounds

The first five rounds I did strict push-ups, after that I switched to knees. My PR for Cindy is 18 rounds (1/8/08) but don’t think I did any strict push-ups then. I’m not happy with this effort, and I think my diet is a huge, huge factor in this. I felt awful — I had the feeling I usually have when I’m not eating clean, like I have acid running through my veins. As you can imagine, that is not pleasant.

The major obstacle I face trying to clean up my diet is that I love to eat. Actually, I love to cook and I love to eat. In fact, if I wasn’t a graphic designer I would probably be a pastry chef. Seriously. I just have to learn to eat (and bake) in moderation. Considering the history of heart disease in my family it would really be in my best interest to eat clean. (My dad had three heart attacks, four heart surgeries and an artificial valve; both of my grandfathers had heart attacks; all five of my aunts and uncles on my dad’s side either had heart attacks and/or heart surgery; and three aunts and uncles on my mom’s side had heart attacks and/or heart surgery.) I’ve spent a lot more time in hospitals watching people hooked up to machines and having their chests cracked open than I ever wanted to see. It is not pleasant. I just need to think of that the next time I have the temptation to shove some lovely baked goods down my gullet. But, to be fair, I don’t smoke and I never have, so according to one of my dad’s heart doctors that reduces my chances of having heart problems by 80%. Still, the battery acid in the veins feeling persists, and that is not something I want to live with and it is 100% preventable.

Well, now that I’ve depressed myself, time for something positive. I finished my last work project today! I am now officially caught up! Whooooooooooooooooo-hoooooooooooooo! I have, literally, been behind since January. It is such a relief not to have something hanging over my head, not to wake up with a feeling of dread, not to cringe when the phone rings with a client on the other end screaming “Where’s my stuff?” Ah, I think I’ll take a book and go sit with my dog in the crisp fall air and enjoy myself. Time to relax a little.

Leave a Reply

