Cookie Dough Class

Kyuki-do class tonight. It’s not a hard word to pronounce, yet no one that doesn’t do it can wrap their tongue around it. It’s always “cookie dough” “cooey do” or some people give up and just say “karate.” When you politely inform them you do not practice karate they say “Yes you do, karate.” My family has long since given up and they just say “Hiiiiyaaa!” As in, “Did you go to Hiiiiyyyyaaa! class tonight?” Yes, I did, would you like me to demonstrate the techniques we learned?

Anyway, I digress. Good class, mostly high belts so we practiced for the upcoming black belt test. We did all the forms, self defense forms, and continuous hand techniques. Then Tom taught me a few new forms. After that we put on hogus and did three on one sparring. It’s all fun and games until someone gets kicked in the face.

I feel like crud. I don’t know if I have a cold or allergies or what, but I’m dragging. I know one thing for sure, my eating habits have been abominable for the last month. I’m not even trying, which is probably why I feel like crud. Gotta clean that up.

On a completely different note, here is a great video of a jerry-rigged assisted pull-up machine:

4 thoughts on “Cookie Dough Class

  1. your family and your martial arts sounds like my mom and my military background. she sometimes says something like “back when you were in the army”. christ mom – that is sinful and just downright blasphemous….. i’m a former marine not an army doggy.

  2. LMAO… oh Steve… Semper Fi… some of my favorite workout folks are marines. Some of my favorite other folks are army… LOL. They do not like to be confused or assumed to be similar.

    Tami, I was going to send you an invite to the invite only blog but don’t have your email. Can you use the link so I can invite you? Thanks! 🙂

  3. Hey Steve, I remember being in the vicinity once when someone called a Marine a soldier. He very politely, yet forcefully, informed the offender that he was not a soldier, he was a MARINE. Glad I wasn’t the dummy that said that. I remember reading about a Navy chaplain who was deployed with some Marines in Iraq, he kept reminding them that the Marines were just a department of the Navy. Finally one of the Marines said “Yes sir, the men’s department.”

    Sorry I didn’t make it over tonight, I still don’t feel so good and I had a crazy day. Hopefully tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

