Run Away, Run Away!

Steve and I went to the track this morning and ran a 5K. Yesterday was my favorite workout, today was my least favorite workout. Blech. I got wicked stomach cramps in the last mile, too. Thought I was going to have to pull over and puke at one point.

My watch quit after about a mile and a half so I have no idea what my time was. I think Steve finished in 28:00 or 29:00, so I’m guessing I was around 36:00 or so. I should have told him to bring a book so he’d have something to do to pass the time while he was waiting for me. Ha!

Obviously, this is something I really, really, really need to work on. 

Update: Steve ran a 24:55, not a 28:00 like I thought I remembered. Sorry Steve! So my time was probably somewhere around 34:00.

This afternoon also I did some strict presses:

50# x 10
65# x 1
70# x 1 
75# x 1 (x 5)
80# x 1 (Fail) 

Then later tonight I went to sparring class. I just felt blah all night. My knees hurt, I was tired, my legs felt heavy (actually, my legs are heavy.) We also had to listen to our teacher rant a little about politics tonight. Again. I’m sick of politics. I just want to spar, or learn a form — I don’t want to know what the latest email your lawyer buddies in New York sent you said about Sarah Palin. I really don’t care if you hate the President. I really don’t care if you hate the Governor. I really don’t care what the chicks on “The View” think about the election. I hear that crap every time I turn on the TV or radio or open up the paper. I’m completely bipartisan myself — I detest all politicians equally. Just shut up and vote. That’s what I’m going to do.

8 thoughts on “Run Away, Run Away!

  1. I got 24:55, don’t make me slower than I already am… 🙂
    Have a great weekend Tami. See you next week. Think about the business stuff we were talking about.

  2. Holy Shniekies! 16? Minutes?

    My 15 year old cousin was in town for a volleyball match today. She plays on the Spearfish JV team. She told me she went to a summer strength training camp and was doing 175# front squats and pull-ups by the end. Too bad she’s not in Pierre, I’d talk her into doing CrossFit with us.

  3. That’s gonna leave a mark!

    Your brain has a thin candy shell!

    Ha! I love that movie. I hear you on being tired and feeling sluggish et al. I’m there right along with you. Stick with it though… hopefully it will get better….

  4. Katie, there are so many great lines in that movie!

    “Lots of people take seven years to finish college.” “Yeah, they’re called doctors.”

    “You can tell a lot about a steak by sticking your head up the butcher’s ass, but wouldn’t you rather take the cow’s word for it?”

    It’s a classic, for sure.

Leave a Reply

