9.3.08

Workout:

Back Squat 3-3-3-3-3 reps

125/135/135/135/135

135 was definitely my max for three reps. I dreaded stepping under the bar after the second set. I was disappointed with myself the last time this one came up because I thought I didn’t push myself enough. Not so tonight, I gave it everything I had.

I also set up the squat stands in the living room and did some strict presses throughout the day. I like doing something like that because I can relieve some stress while I’m working and waiting for my computer to process things. One of the most frustrating things about graphic design is waiting for Photoshop to do things to big files. Patience is not my strong suit, so I’m better off doing something constructive than just sitting saying bad things to the computer screen (or worse, eating something.) I worked my way slowly to a 1RM, and I actually hit 80 pounds! That makes it three times in the last year, so I know it’s not a fluke.

I also went to Kyuki-do class tonight. We have four people who are going to be testing for black belt in little over a month, so we went through all the forms tonight. It was fun, I haven’t done some of the forms since I tested for black in March. I was surprised that I remembered them, mostly… After class Tom went through Keumgang, a new black belt form, with me. Lots of twisting and balancing on one leg, but fun.

Parked myself on the couch tonight to watch Venus vs. Serena at the US Open. Phenomenal match. Serena literally threw herself all over the court trying to get balls back and Venus was popping 125 mph serves in. I wasn’t a fan of the sisters when they first came up, but they’ve really grown on me over the last few years. They have a great attitude, they’re always good for an entertaining quote, and they play with passion. Can’t beat that.

Now, I hope Mardy Fish whips Rafael Nadal in the men’s match tonight. I don’t care for Rafa. I have a hard time taking a man seriously who wears capri pants. I don’t care how many majors he’s won or what his ranking is, a fashion faux pas like that cannot be overlooked.

Leave a Reply

