8.29.08

Workout:

“”Nasty Girls

3 rounds for time of:
50 Squats
7 Muscle-ups 
80 pound Hang power cleans, 10 reps

I subbed seated muscle-ups, should have probably gone 3:1 or 2:1, but I was short on time so I just did 7 each round. They were surprisingly easy. I didn’t have to think about it at all, my body just did them like it was on autopilot. They were actually the easiest (and funnest) part of the workout. I did a lot of squats the past two days and my quads were really sore, and the hang cleans were a struggle because of my shoulder. 

A good friend of mine had a house concert in her backyard tonight. It was a blast, just friends and neighbors sitting around on the deck, playing guitars and singing. It’s amazing how many people have hidden talents you rarely find out about.  One guy had an old National resonator steel guitar made in the 1930’s —  the instrument itself was a piece of art, all the layers and patinas of age. Then to hear the sound that came out of it was incredible. A great night, it’s a joy to take pleasure in the simple things of life.

2 thoughts on “8.29.08

  1. Tami, I agree. I’ve been trying to do that more and more lately. With my schedule it’s getting harder and harder, but when it’s nice I like to just go wander around… maybe get ice cream… enjoying the simple things helps to keep the stress down.

    Sorry I’ve been awol for a few. Like I said, schedules getting crazy again. You’ve been a busy workout girl! 😛

  2. Hey, I understand about the work thing. It seemed like I worked 24/7 all summer too. On Friday I was actually done with work at 4:00 in the afternoon — I didn’t know what to do with myself!

    Isn’t it nice to just wander around aimlessly sometimes? Sometimes you just need to do it to relax and recharge a bit.

Leave a Reply

