8.13.08

Workout:

3 rounds for time:

140 pound deadlift, 9 reps
30 situps

4:07

I hurt my shoulder doing my burpees yesterday, so I fear the burpee train may have come to the end of the line. I think I’ll rest it completely for at least a week and see how that goes. Now the challenge is to find some cool CrossFit workouts that don’t involve shoulders. 

I also went to Kyuki-do class tonight. Nothing strenuous, but I got to do the warm up and I made them do sprints. Heh, heh. I didn’t do too much, but I was sweating like a wilderbeast by the end of class. If I didn’t know better I’d say the heater was on in there. I was working with a little six year old girl, the same one who very thoughtfully sent me some hot gassers when we were sparring, and she was being quite the little smart ass. I finally had enough and told her one more snide remark and she would be face down on the floor doing push-ups. I wish I could have taken a video of the look on her face. I can tell you she had quite the internal battle on what she was going to say or not say. She even had to clamp her lips together. Her words must have been coming up her throat and knocking on her teeth, because it looked like they wanted out bad. I have to hand it to her, she kept it in and got to work, but it was probably the hardest thing she did all day.

I was beat today. I also had a headache for the first day since I started taking ZMA a couple of months ago. Of course that was probably due to lack of sleep. I accidentally stayed up until 3 a.m. finishing the best book I’ve ever read in my life, The Book Thief by Marcus Zuzack. I am not a fiction reader. People know I like to read and they give me fiction books all the time. I try, I really do, to get through them — but I’m lucky if I make it past the first chapter. But this book was outstanding. It was written in an unusual style, but once I got used to it I was enthralled. This might be the perfect book. There is no way anything I write can convey how beautiful it was, so I won’t even try. 

Those images were the world, and it stewed in her as she sat with the lovely books and their manicured titles. It brewed in her as she eyed the pages full to the brims of their bellies with paragraphs and words.

“You bastards, she thought.

“You lovely bastards.

“Don’t make me happy. Please, don’t fill me up and let me think that something good can come of any of this. Look at my bruises. Look at this graze. Do you see the graze inside me? Do you see it growing before your very eyes, eroding me? I don’t want to hope for anything anymore. I don’t want to pray that Max is alive and safe. Or Alex Steiner.

“Because the world does not deserve them.”

from the Book Thief by Marcus Zusack

3 thoughts on “8.13.08

  1. Box jumps, jumping lunges, squats, deadlifts, abmats, running, hallow rocks, jumping jacks, double unders, med ball sit ups, light tgu’s… how’d I do? 😛

Leave a Reply

