Olympics Fix

I didn’t do my workout today, an even bigger addiction took over. No, not chocolate. You may say “Blasphemy, Tami! What could top chocolate?” The Olympics, that’s what! I love the Olympics, and I have ever since I was a little kid and my aunt bought me the Sports Illustrated Special Edition 1984 Los Angeles Olympics issue. It was about an inch thick and I pored over it for years. I still have it somewhere, although it’s well dog-eared by now. The strange thing is I don’t know why she even gave it to me, I wasn’t a sports kind of kid, but I sure was after that. It ignited a life-long love affair with the Olympics.

I’ve been glued to the TV for most of the day. Women’s weightlifting this morning, swimming and gymnastics tonight. But the best thing I saw all day was the women’s fencing. I have a friend from Germany who used to compete and we had a long conversation about it a few months ago. The bronze medal match was outstanding. Becca Ward — wow, does she ever have fire! Every time she won a point she screamed like a lion. I even knew who won beforehand, but I was still on the edge of my seat through the whole thing. Congrats to the USA team, who swept all three medals!

100 Day Burpee Challenge: 17 burpees

Leave a Reply

