6.26.08

What a week. My rest day on Saturday nearly turned into a rest week. Sunday I was working outside cutting down some tall weeds around the place and I had a nasty allergy attack. I have never, ever in my life had allergies. It really knocked me for a loop, I just started to feel better yesterday afternoon. 

This evening I decided to go for a run with the dogs. It was about 80 degrees, with 100% humidity and nice little headwind. It did not go well. To loosely quote Bill McKibben, I was not willing to go into the pain cave. I peeked in the door, but I did not enter. I don’t know what my problem was, it’s not like I’ve never been in pain during a workout. I just wasn’t willing to go that far today. 

There is one thing that makes me think it wasn’t just me. The dogs, who are usually way ahead of me and out running through the fields beside the road, were way behind me tonight. Usually Gussy and I hang pretty close together and Beetle laps us and then comes back and runs a few circles around us just to rub it in. But tonight all three of us were dragging. Judging by the looks they were giving me, if they could talk I’m sure they would have said “Are we there yet?” Or more likely “@#$% you!” I guess if it was hot and humid and I was wearing a full length fur coat and some moron was trying to make me run I wouldn’t be having a good time either.

One thought on “6.26.08

Leave a Reply

