6.19.08

Workout:

“The Barbell Bear”
5 Deadlifts
5 Power Cleans
5 Thrusters
Every minute on the minute for 20 minutes

Rounds 1-3 65 pounds, rounds 4-10 60 pounds.

I didn’t make 20 minutes. I did ten rounds in 11:43. The deads and the cleans were no problem, but the thrusters kicked my butt. What is it about thrusters that are so awful? I think maybe they’re even worse than burpees on the suck-o-meter.

I stopped after 10 rounds because a) I was tuckered out, b) I only had about four hours of sleep the night before, and c) I ran out of time. I had to go to a funeral and it ended up being an all-day family epic. Not in a bad way, other than the poor fellow who died. Over the course of the day we ended up hitting the best ice cream joint in the state (Zesto!) and one of the best restaurants in the state (McLellands!) I’ve been sitting on the couch for the last three hours trying to slowly deflate.

I also almost did serious bodily harm to my fourteen year old cousin. We were sitting at a gas station and out of the corner of my eye I saw someone sneak up beside the van and put their hand on the car door. Of course the first thing I thought of was “carjack!” Unlikely, this being the middle of nowhere in South Dakota, but I digress. Turns out it was my cousin who happened to see us there and was going to surprise me. I almost took her out. Dude, do not sneak up on someone who has been training to break people’s limbs for four years.

Also, when did it become acceptable to wear flip-flops to a funeral? I can’t believe how many people I saw today wearing them. My favorite was the guy in flip-flops, board shorts and a t-shirt. At a funeral! What, you can’t be bothered to put on a pair of shoes? I fear the Apocalypse is upon us.

4 thoughts on “6.19.08

  1. Tami, I’ve seen the comment about thrusters before from a couple of the guys I’ve linked too. Also squat clean comments. The thing you need to remember about the thruster, as well as the squat clean, clean and press, clean and jerk etc., is that they are all actually doulbe movements. If you just clean a bar to your shoulder, that’s it. But the thruster involves first a clean to your rack, a squat, then a lot of effort and hip drive to get that bar into a push press. It’s what I like to call a double dose. You get two movements for the price of one. That’s why it hurts so bad, or so good, as John Cougar Mellancamp would like to say. Thrusters are rough. So don’t get down about them. You have to remember what they are. I had a run in with the Tiger last night… so much for the rest day… oof…

  2. Good point. I never thought about the thrusters being a combined movement, two exercises in one. I also heard someone say the other day they are the most metabolically challenging exercise done in CrossFit (was in a video on the main site.) I’m scheduled to do tons more of them today, so II guess I can practice my “two for one” mantra while I’m grinding them out 🙂

Leave a Reply

