3.29.08

Workout:

RX’d:

Barbara

Five rounds, each for time of:
20 Pull-ups
30 Push-ups
40 Sit-ups
50 Squats

Rest precisely three minutes between each round.

I was forced to do 3/4 Barbara due to the lack of a pullup bar, so I just did the push-ups, sit-ups and squats. Doesn’t sound too hard, does it? Or so I thought.

Round 1: Did all push-ups strict, slightly smug at my ability to do this. Sit ups not too bad, puffing a little at the end. Squats not too bad either, not cranking them out like Annie but I used my newly purchased Dynamax ball and worked on getting the right depth. 5:03

Round 2: Couldn’t do more than 5 push-ups in a row. Seem to be having some sort of problem. Get to 20, give up and start knee pushups. Sit-ups a lot harder, definitely sucking air at the end. Legs starting to burn on squats. 6:00

Round 3: One strict push-up. Oh my, I don’t remember them being this hard at the beginning. Start doing knee push-ups, try another strict at 11. Find myself suddenly unable to push my body off the ground. Finish the rest on my knees. Sit-ups sheer torture. Seems that my abdominal muscles have called in sick for the rest of the day. Curse the hard, cold cement floor and small area rug that inadequately cushions my shoulder blades from whacking the ground. Squats slow and deliberate. Teeth gritted in agony. Find myself making strange animal-in-distress noises. Convince myself that I am slow and have my head hanging down because I am “checking my form.” 5:15

Collapse in agony and wonder if I can possibly do another round. Mother comes in and asks for help with new baby calf. Saved by the bell. Would dance for joy if I could move my legs. Desperately hope that providing said assistance will not involve a) push-ups, b) sit-ups, c) squats or d) any physical movement of any kind.

Leave a Reply

